Pessimist or Realist?

April 6, 2008 at 9:33 am (Standard) ()

I’m a “glass is half-empty” kind of gal. Some call it pessimism, I call it realism. That’s just the way it is.

I majored in biology and psychology in undergrad school. Along with Maslow’s Heirarchy of Needs, Kubler-Ross’s Stages of Death and Dying, and a few other tidbits, I also picked up my psych advisor’s penchant for pessimism, er, realism. If I heard him say it once, I heard a thousand times, “that’s not pessimistic, it’s realistic”. You know what? He was mostly right. I didn’t think so back then. I was young and idealistic, like most other kids are at that stage. Slowly but surely, over the years, his thinking has crept into my psyche so much that I could teach the freaking class by now, complete with his overabundant usage of certain phrases. The class record back then was hearing “…and this is why…” well over 100 times during a 1 hour lecture during an Abnormal Psych class. Seriously.

I’d like to go back and regain a little bit of that idealism and shed some of my “realism”. It would be nice to see the glass as half-full for a change.

Leave a Reply

