Start a Christmas Tradition with Elf on the Shelf

December 8, 2013 at 8:41 pm (Humor, inspiration, Personal) (, , , , )

I’m always a little envious when I hear people talking about family traditions.  We never had any traditions.  So, when I heard about the Elf on the Shelf, my ears perked, and I started thinking that it could be a nifty little tradition, not only for Malissa and me, but for us to have with Stephanie, my 7-year old cousin, who is more like my niece, but you get the idea.

NewImage

 So, here’s the premise, as told in the book that includes the elf:   the elf has been sent by Santa to keep an eye on their assigned child and report back to Santa; the elf, who is named by your child, appears around Thanksgiving, and relocates within their assigned home each evening…some creative parents leave treats and little “happies” as a gift from the elf for the child;  the elf is not to be touched by the child(ren) in the home, or else he loses his magic; consequences for touching the elf is that he loses his magic and must return to Santa for a period of time; the elf returns to Santa on Christmas Eve each year.  

It’s already a bit too late this year, but you can bet I’ll be ordering my very own elf (likely from Amazon) during the after-holiday sales.  They are a rather hefty $30-40 right now, but a friend told me she got hers last year after the first of the year for about $15.  That’s much more doable.  This will be a great little tradition for us, and I can use my extra time planning all sorts of little treats and crafts.  If I start now, I just might be ready by next Christmas 🙂  
Happy Holidays!

Leave a Reply

