Geocaching: Creative Caching Redux

March 18, 2014 at 5:39 am (Geocaching) (, )

With the exception of “Can you help me fix my (insert Apple product here)?”, I probably get asked about geocaching more than anything else, by friends and strangers alike.  I have written a couple of posts about geocaching, and folks frequently ask me about new caches that I’ve made.  Since it’s been awhile since I’ve mentioned any here, I decided an update was in order. Following are a few of my recent “creative caches”.

 

SmileyCache

  The first is a small finger puppet that fit perfectly over a pill container sold at the drug store for a few dollars.  It has an 0-ring, making it waterproof.  I just glued that puppet onto the top of the container, so it will still unscrew without any difficulty.  Just add log and hide.

 

 

 

BirdCache

  Next, is one of my favorites.  It is a bird decoy that I picked up at the hardware store for a few dollars.  It has a small plastic tab at the feet, which is where I chose to place a plastic screw top container that came inside a nano bison container.  The size was perfect. Now, I can just add a clamp onto his other foot, and perch him on a branch in a tree.  

 

 

NestEggsCache

  To go along with the bird, I have a nest with a couple of eggs.  I used one of those “everything tools’ to hollow out the inside of one of the eggs, and glued a plastic screw-top container inside (again, one of those little tubes that was inside the nano bison tubes). I lightly glued the eggs into the nest, to make it easier all around.  The nest will be attached to a tree branch with some brown wire to enhance the camouflage. 

 

 

Lantern cache

  Next is a little lantern that I picked up in the miniature section of the hobby store.  The lantern is a couple of inches tall, and it was the perfect size for the top of a nano cache to be attached to the bottom of it.  I did a test run and hid it hanging on a gazebo that gets a lot of foot traffic to see if it would get “muggled” (that’s when a non-geocacher either destroys or steals the cache); it has been there for about 3 months without incident. I even received an email recently from someone who “discovered” it whilst scoping out hiding places of his own, and he signed it as the “First to Find Before Publishing”.  That isn’t an actual designation, but it happens occasionally, and I’ll definitely give him credit for it.  

MushroomCache I think I’m finally ready to publish the coordinates and let folks find these caches for real.  🙂   Last, but not least, is a little mushroom that I picked up at Walgreens in their seasonal section along with other gardening-type decorations.  It had a little spike attached for sticking it in a plant.  I glued a plastic screw-top container to the underside of it, and stuck it in the ground near a tree stump.  It is just the right color that it looks like it belongs where I placed it.  I’ll be excited to see that comments that come back on that one. 

 

 

 

I hope you enjoyed getting a sneak-peek into a few of my recent “creative caches”.  Let me know what kind of caches you’re making these days, and if there’s something in particular you’ve run across that’s particularly creative or devious, let us know about it.  I’m going to go double-check my coordinates and publish some new caches for folks to find!  Until next time, cache on!

Leave a Reply

